Emmure (/ɛˈmjuːr/) is an American metalcore band formed in 2003. Originally based in New Fairfield, Connecticut, but now residing in Queens, New York, the group has a total of seven releases, with their first public release being a 2006 EP entitled The Complete Guide to Needlework.


Victory Records took notice of the band after the release of their extended play and signed them, releasing their first full-length album Goodbye to the Gallows in 2007. Their second, third and fourth albums The Respect Issue (2008), Felony (2009) and Speaker of the Dead (2011) were all distributed through Victory too.

After the band’s initial four-album contract with Victory expired, they signed again with Victory to distribute their fifth and sixth studio albums Slave to the Game (2012) and Eternal Enemies (2014) as well. However after nine years of being signed to the label, Emmure would leave Victory in 2016 to sign with SharpTone Records, which is distributed through Nuclear Blast. The seventh album titled Look at Yourself is set for release on March 3, 2017.



Emmure was started in 2003. Frankie Palmeri (from Queens, New York) met Joe and Ben Lionetti (from New Fairfield, Connecticut) through an internet message board. Palmeri then traveled to Connecticut to begin rehearsals together. Bassist Dan Steindler and guitarist Jesse Ketive, residents of New Fairfield and Queens, respectively, then joined when the three began another recruiting search for members. In 2004, Steindler left the band and was later replaced by Mark Davis. Ketive was formerly in the band Warfix, in which he played guitar alongside Sean Murphy and Mike Kaabe of Endwell (Kaabe eventually Joining Emmure himself in April 2009) and Bryan Goldsman of Southside Panic (and co-producer of Felony). The band’s name “Emmure” is a reference to immurement, a form of execution.

Current Band Members

  • Frankie Palmeri – vocals (2003–present)
  • Joshua Travis – guitar (2016–present)
  • Phil Lockett – bass (2016–present)
  • Josh Miller – drums (2016–present)


Goodbye to the Gallows (2007)
The Respect Issue (2008)
Felony (2009)
Speaker of the Dead (2011)
Slave to the Game (2012)
Eternal Enemies (2014)
Look at Yourself (2017)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *