KICKBACK was a French hardcore band formed in 1991, named after the Breakdown song from the same name. One of the most well known underground hardcore bands in France and other European countries like Germany and Belgium, they are also very respected in the US. It was founded in 1991 by Stephen Bessac, Fabrice Fortin and Patrick Vandewalle. After many line up changes, vocalist Stephen remains the only original member and driving force of the band. They are known for their “negative attitude” and being sometimes provocative and aggressive towards their audience.

Back in 91, lead vocalist Stephen Bessac was looking for an outlet for his obsessions, as music seemed one valid direction, he integrated an already existing formation. He changed the name, set the tone and KICKBACK was born. Originally influenced by the New York sound of bands such as Breakdown, Rawdeal, Cro-Mags, Carnivore… his ultimate goal was definitely to push the boundaries further. They released their first demo The Meaning Of Pain in the end of 91 and then an EP No One Gets Out Alive.

In 1995, an opportunity in the form of a friend who was looking to sign\line bands for his new label, Hostile Records, got them a two album deal. Shortly after, they went in studio to record their first full length “Cornered”. Produced by Jaimie Locke, it set the mood of what KICKBACK was going towards but the original members were too shy to fully embrace the concept and to follow the uncompromising path the band was destined to take. “The days move along with regularity over and over again and suddenly there is change…”.

It took a drastic change of line-up and the arrival of bassist Pascal Pastore and guitar player Irvin Oziel, to take the sound into new territory.

After cancelling a European tour, the band announces in December 2013 they are splitting up.

Last Members:
Stephen Bessac (vocals)
Pascal Pastore (bass)
Damien Guimard (guitar)
Waner Ryher (guitar)
Serch Carriere (drums)

Past members:
Hervé Goardou (drums)
Fabrice Fortin (drums)
Patrick Vandewalle (guitar)
Jean-Marc Quere (bass)
Anthony (bass)
Simon Doucet (drums)
Boussad Lacheb (guitar)
Steffan Scigalla (drums)
Irvin Oziel (guitar)

“The Meaning Of Pain” (Demo – 1991)
“No One Gets Out Alive” (Demo – 1992)
“Untitled Demo (Demo – 1993)
“Cornered” (1995)
“Forever War” (1997)
“Les 150 Passions Meurtrière” (EP – 2000)
“No Surrender” (2009)
“Et Le Diable Rit Avec Nous” (2011)
“Kickback – Vomir (Split – 2013)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *