Purusam is a Swedish band, formed in 1994 and disbanded in 1998. It`s technical hardcore metal incorporates elements from both genres, alternating between shouted male vocals and clean feminine ones. It’s marked by the elaborate instrumental parts, by the heaviness intertwined with melody and lyrics that shift between poetry and fury.
Purusam was established in 1994 from the ashes of another Swedish band called Reach. On the beginning it was Fredrik, Johnny and Jon from Reach and then Anna Lena joined as an outsider. After only 3 weeks the demo Fade was recorded and  Desperate Fight a couple of days later decided to work with the band. In May 1994 the 4 songs CD “Outbound” was released. After that release the band found a singer named Tobias who sounded more like Halloweens Michael Kiske, but since Jon wanted hardcore vocals on the upcoming album Tobias had to leave the band. Exactly 1 year after Outbound the debut full length “The way of the dying race” was released by Desperate Fight Records. At that time things started to change. Jon left the band to join Refused so Tobias (Willig) took over the mic. After a while Mikael joined to fill in the second guitar. The band did a couple of tours with bands like Refused and Nine before they entered the studio to record their new album “Daybreak Chronicles”. This record shows a more mature side of the band. But nothing lasts, Mikael and Anna-Lena were replaced by Mattias (aka Limpan) from Sentinel 5 and a girl named Lena. This new linup in March 1998 recorded the seven-inch “Of light and darkness” and released it at the Chinese record Ling Lao Records. Later on Lena quit and the band has not found anyone to take her place at this date. They split in the same year.
Band name context – The word “purusam” comes from the sanskrit “purusha”, which means the universal spirit. The vedic (hindu) gods are seen as differentiated representations of that spirit, which the human mind creates.
Analysis  – Inspired by the title of the band’s last recording, “Of Light and Darkness”, it could be said that the two full-length albums express that contrast. “The Way of the Dying Race” is connected to darkness through the greater aggressiveness, felt both on the instruments and lyrics. “Daybreak Chronicles” is connected to light through the greater mellowness and search for beauty. However, both elements are always present, one backing up the other.
Some fans don’t understand the reason why Purusam is so unknown to a wider scope of metal and hardcore listeners. The band’s quality is perceptible to anyone that enjoys the combinations of those genres. Perhaps, in the future, the band could be rescued from obscurity, letting a larger audience enjoy its sound.

Line Up:
Anna-Lena Swan Borg – vocals, bass (1994-1998)
Lena-Olivia Andersson – vocals, bass (1998)
Jon Brännströmm – vocals, guitar (1994-1996)
Fredrik Holmstedt – drums
Johnny Johansson – guitar
Mikael Forsgren – guitar (1996-1998)
Tobias Willig – vocals (1996-)

“The Way of the Dying Race” – 1996
“Daybreak Chronicles” – 1997
“Outbound” – 1994
“Of Light and Darkness” – 1998


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *